Skip to content
  • home
  • map
  • search
Capturing Cambridge
  • search
  • Facebook
  • X
  • Instagram
  • Home
  • /
  • Projects
  • /
  • South Cambridge­shire
  • /
  • Bourn
  • Back Forward
A stone sign reading Bourn Hall stands on a grassy lawn with a brick building visible in the distance behind large trees.

Bourn Hall (RGL2023)

Bourn Hall, Bourn

History of Bourn Hall

Listed building

Small country house. Dated ‘1602 H IF’ on rainwater heads, built for John and Frances Hager, possibly including part of an earlier building. Considerably altered in 1817-19 by John Aday Repton with features introduced from Haslingfield Hall (demolished 1814-1818) for John and Elizabeth Sackville-West, fifth Earl De La Warr. Internal courtyard reputed to have been enclosed in C19 by Norman Shaw (1881-1912).

Stable block. Early C17 with C19 alterations and restoration, and C20 alterations.

A large, multi-story brick manor house with numerous tall chimneys, projecting bay windows, and crenellated roofline sections.

Bourn Hall c.1602 (RCHM)

A room features a grid-patterned ceiling, dark wood-paneled walls with vertical trim, a large stone fireplace, and a chandelier.

Bourn Hall c.1602, Hall decorated by John A Repton 1817-1819 (RCHM)

Symmetrical stone building with two gabled wings, central arched doorway, a clock tower, and a weathervane against a dark sky.

Bourn Hall, stables, early 17th cent. (RCHM)

An ornate carved stone fireplace mantel with diamond motifs, recessed niches, and a decorative plaster ceiling above.

Bourn Hall chimney piece 1555 from Haslingfield Hall (RCHM)

Detailed monochrome drawing of an ornate stone fireplace mantel featuring classical columns, diamond panels, and carved motifs.

Bourn Hall chimney piece 1555 from Haslingfield Hall (RCHM)

Tags

  • Listed building
  • tudor

Projects

  • Bourn

Share this article

Share onFacebook Share onBluesky

Contribute

Do you have any information about the people or places in this article? If so, then please let us know using the Contact page or by emailing capturingcambridge@museumofcambridge.org.uk.

Licence

This work is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 4.0 not including content on external links as indicated byexternal link.

Bourn

The Priory, 99 High Street, Guilden Morden

Clay Farm

7 & 8 The Crescent, Wisbech

Riddy House, Riddy Lane, Bourn

Church Farm, Alms Hill, Bourn

RAF Bourn

Upper farm, Bourn

Moulton Hills / Arms Hills, Bourn

Old Smithy, Bourn

The Old Cottage, Bourn

Rosemary and Lavender Cottage, Bourn

The Cottage, Bourn

11 High Street, Bourn